# **UK Department of Plant Pathology Timeline**

#### 1880s



Entomology &

Botany.

pathology issues

1885 Kentucky 1905 Scovell Hall Agricultural Experiment ecomes next site for Agricultural established. Gilli Experiment Station Building Building served a Plant pathologists original part of Agronom Station Building Department) Plant disease were located in problems were the basement o Scovell Hall unti Departments of Horticulture & Agronomy and



built (renamed Mathews Hall)

1889 College of larrison Garma Agriculture (faculty 1889founded within the State ntomologist, als dealt with plant

### 1900s

Agricultural xtension Servic established in KY. one of the first in

> 1918 Mable Roe appointed as Assistant Plant Pathologist in (1 year

appointment).

1910s

1924 West Kentucky Substation stablished (now UK Research and Education Center at Princeton KY)



WD Valleau appointed first Professor of Plant athology at UK in (retired 1961).

**UK College of Agriculture** 

logos through the years

#### 1930s

1920s

1923

E.M. Johnson

appointed

Assistant Plant

(retired, 1966).



1931 awrence Hensor ppointed (retire 1974).

1936

H. H. Thornbern

(resigned, 1937).



1936 lant pathologists move from the hasement of the Agricultural tation Building to new Tobacco Research Lab



tephen Diach appointed (retired, 1978) Dr. Diachun was instrumental in establishing the Department of Plant Pathology. Appointed Department Chair

1968.

#### 1950s



1950 Richard Chapmar appointed (retired, 1984)

J.L. Troutman employed as Pathology (resigned, 1953)



1953 Granville W. Stokes appointed became Associat Director of Agricultural Experiment (retired ca. 1993)



itton, USDA ARS transferred fron

#### 1960s



Raymond

Hampton

appointed

resigned 1970)

1962

R.A. Reinert

appointed

Christophe

Dept. of

Agronomy to

Plant Pathology

(retired ca. 1987)

Ph D offered in

Biology with Plant

Pathology

"cooperating."

1963

Department of

Plant Pathology

established with

Richard Chapman

as Chair (during

UK presidency o

John Oswald).

resigned, 1967)

1963 John Oswald appointed University of Kentucky President and ofessor of Plant Pathology.



Plant Pathology moves from the obacco Research aboratory to the ewly constructed Agricultural Science Center

1964

appointed

(retired, 2004).

1965

Yang appointed

(resigned, 1972).

D. Poole

appointed

resigned, 1972)



Thomas Pirone appointed (retired, 2001).





1975 Dept. of



1979 David Smith appointed (retired, 2012).

## 1980s

1990s

Paul Vincelli

appointed.

1993

S. He appointed

(resigned, 1995)

1996

Lisa Vaillancourt

female faculty

member.

2000s

Michael Goodi

appointed.

(deceased, 2020

2002

Pradeep Kachro

appointed.



Wayne Wilcox

becomes first

Plant Pathologist

appointed to UK

Research and

ducation Center

Princeton

(resigned, 1984).

1975 Richard Stuckey appointed esigned, 1989).



1978 Thomas Pirone appointed partment Chai

1978

Richard Ferris

appointed

(resigned, 1991).



Princeton Research & (retired, 2015)

1984

Robert J.

Shepherd

appointed

(retired, 1996).



Plant Pathology moves to newly constructed Plan Mark Farman Science Building. appointed.



appointed.



nneth Seebold Jr. appointed (resigned, 2014



Aardra Kachro appointed.



Christopher Schardl appointe Department Chair resigned as Chair



Tyler Dreaden USFS, becomes Adjunct Faculty.



Nicole Ward Gauthier appointed.

Emily Pfeufer

appointed

(resigned 2021)

Rick Bennett

appointed CAFE

Associate Dean o

Research and

rofessor of Plan

Pathology.



Robert "Lou" lirsch appointed



2017 Kiersten Wise appointed to Princeton Research & ducation Center



2023 ointed interi Chair



Carl Bradley appointed to Princeton Research & Education Center





appointed

(retired, 2013).

1971 Malcolm Siege John Hartman appointed appointed retired, 1998). (retired, 2011).



1967 Harry Wheeler pointed (retired

1972 Louis Shain appointed (retired, 1999)



1968

Albert Williams

appointed

(became UK

1975)

1968

/illiam Brown

appointed

(resigned 1973)

rticulture Chair



Joseph Kuc appointed (retired, 1995). retired, 2000).



Shuh-li Sheen transfers from (retired, 1991).





1979

William Nesmith





1989 W. Walla appointed, Associate Dean for Extension (retired, 2001).



College of Agriculture,



COOPERATIVE EXTENSION SERVICE



